Science and Technical Schools Board formerly known as Science Schools Management Board was established in the year 1977 with the sole aim of producing qualified secondary school students for admission into tertiary institution to pursue related science and engineering courses and subsequently fulfill the manpower requirements of Kano State. Its present name came as a result of law no. 10 passed in 1982 by the then Kano State House of Assembly to include Technical Education in the extended aim of the then Kano State Government.

The Board has started with two Science Secondary Schools at Dawakin Tofa and Dawakin Kudu (The Dawaki Experiment), but now has more than fourty colleges under its care. Its headquarters was temporarily located at Kofar Mata, but had long ago been relocated again to Saidu Muhammadu Gwarzo Complex in Audu Bako Secretariat in Tarauni Local Government Area.


Our mission is to train well focused minded and disciplined students in Science, Technical and Vocational Education, capable of fitting into professionally based courses in institutions of higher learning within and outside Nigeria for the socio-economic development of Kano State and Nigeria.


Our vision is to produce world class scientists and engineers for human well-being and development of our societies.

"Educate your child in science and technoly..."

Share this post:

Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje

Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, the executive governor Kano state.

Alhaji Tijjani Ahmed Abdullahi

Alhaji Tijjani Ahmed Abdullahi, the executive secretary Science and technical schools board, Kano state.